The Centre, on Saturday, appointed four new Information Commissioners in the Central Information Commission (CIC), which has been functioning with only three Information Commissioners as against a sanctioned strength of eleven.
As per a communication, President Ram Nath Kovind has approved the appointment of Yashwardhan Kumar Sinha, Vanaja N Sarna, Neeraj Kumar Gupta and Suresh Chandra as Information Commissioners.
It was only earlier this month that the Supreme Court had directed the Centre to initiate the process of filling up vacancies in the CIC at the earliest.
The bench comprising Justice AK Sikri, Justice S. Abdul Nazeer and Justice R. Subhash Reddy had also directed the Centre as well as States to disclose information pertaining to shortlisted candidates and the criteria being following for appointments to the CIC as well as the State Information Commissions, on their respective websites.