The Supreme Court collegium has endorsed the decision of the Calcutta High Court collegium to not recommend the name of an additional judge for confirmation as a permanent judge.
The collegium comprising Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra, Justice Ranjan Gogoi and Justice MB Lokur concurred with the decision to not recommend Additional Judge Amitabha Chatterjee for permanent judgeship.
“Having carefully gone through the material placed on record, especially, the reasons stated by the Collegium of the Calcutta High Court for taking the aforesaid decision of not recommending the name of Mr. Justice Amitabha Chatterjee, Additional Judge for confirmation as Permanent Judge, we endorse the same,” the resolution said.